Chemiosmotic Theory pt 1

Hey good morning. How are you? Yes I am still up and I am tired, but this is what the life is about I guess. So we did the most awesome thing today, a topic which I have always wanted to do: CYANIDE. So we finally did the topic which deals with the juicy stuff, how cyanide affects the human body. My interest for cyanide stems from a crazy room mate that I have who is just in love with cyanide but enough of the yibble yabble and more of bicohemistry.

So there is this process known as the Chemiosmotic theory. For your understanding about cyanide inhibition I would have to break the topic into two part blogs, so you can slowly digest each part. So after reading this blog please go to the Chemiosmotic Theory Part 2.

I am not promising that this explanation for the Chemiosmotic theory is the best, as this is not my strong point. As a matter of fact this is the first topic that is giving me a little trouble understanding. I got advice from a friend saying maybe I should write about it and see if it becomes clearer. So here it goes:

Electrons have a very high energy transfer potential. These electrons pass through the electron transport chain (ETC). The ETC is made up of four complexes.Complex I is NADH dehydrogenase. Complex II is succinate dehydrogenase. Complex III is cytochrome BC1 complex.Complex IV is cytochrome c oxidase. As the electron pass from one complex to the next energy is released. The complex uses this energy to pump electrons from the matrix to the inter-membrane space. However only three complex pump ions. Complex II does not pump protons from the matrix to the inter-membrane space. The word pump is used to put emphasis on the protons moving against the concentration gradient. As the electrochemical gradient builds this causes a force to be set up which try and push the protons back into the matrix. This is causes the proton motive force. However the the protons can not pass through the membrane as the inner membrane is impermeable to the protons. However a channel is located in the inner membrane known as the ATP synthase which allows protons to be transported back to the matrix. As the protons pass through ATP synthase, the ATP synthase undergo a conformational change which allows energy to be released in order to make ATP. ( ADP + Pi —–> ATP)
chemo

Mitochondrial_electron_transport_chain—Etc4.svg

So I hope I got this right. At least partially right on my first try. I am going to try and read the text book again and maybe re post again with a little more clarity. What can I say? I guess you learn from trying! So never give up peeps. Peace out!
keep calm

Leave a Reply

